Child Safe

Statement of Commitment
Child Safe Statement Of Commitment
Cranbourne South Primary School is committed to safety and wellbeing of all children and young people. This will be the primary focus of our care and decision-making. Cranbourne South Primary School has zero tolerance for child abuse. Cranbourne South Primary School is committed to providing a child safe environment where children and young people are safe and feel safe, and their voices are heard about decisions that affect their lives. Particular attention will be paid to the cultural safety of Aboriginal children and children from culturally and/or linguistically diverse backgrounds, as well as the safety of children with a disability. Every person involved in Cranbourne South Primary School has a responsibility to understand the important and specific role he/she plays individually and collectively to ensure that the wellbeing and safety of all children and young people is at the forefront of all they do and every decision they make.

In its planning, decision-making and operations Cranbourne South Primary School will:

  1. Take a preventative, proactive and participatory approach to child safety, led by a Child Safe Officer, team and Principal class
  2. Value and empower children to participate in decisions which affect their lives
  3. Foster a culture of openness that supports all persons to safely disclose risks of harm to children
  4. Respect diversity in cultures and child rearing practices while keeping child safety paramount
  5. Provide written guidance on appropriate conduct and behaviour towards children
  6. Engage only the most suitable people to work with children and have high quality staff and volunteer supervision and professional development and training
  7. Ensure children know who to talk with if they are worried or are feeling unsafe, and that they are comfortable and encouraged to raise such issues
  8. Report suspected abuse, neglect or mistreatment promptly to the appropriate authorities
  9. Share information appropriately and lawfully with other organisations where the safety and wellbeing of children is at risk; and 10. Value the input of and communicate regularly with families and carers.


All Victorian government schools are under the jurisdiction of DET policies and guidelines.
For reference to all DET policies, please visit DET Schools Policy and Advisory Guide.
olicies ratified by CSPS School Council are those localised to meet school needs.

School Council | 2019

Cranbourne South Primary School, like all government schools in Victoria has a school council. The School Council is a group of people who assist in governing the school. It is given the power to set the directions for the school, and is a legal entity in its own right. A School Council directly governs and influences the quality of education that a school provides to its students.

To carry out its role effectively, the School Council needs to be able to work cooperatively with the parents and staff at the school. School and community consultation is an integral part of the effective running of school councils.

Cranbourne South Primary School has 11 members in total – 7 parents and 4 DEECD staff members.

School Council meets at least 8 times throughout the year.

Parent Members
Mrs Jodi Price (President)
Mrs Kylie Murphy (Vice President)
Mrs Deb Ledgar (Secretary)
Mr Daniel Rich
Mr Cameron Dean
Mrs Penny East
Mr John Barbaressos

Staff Members
Mrs Monique Corcoran (Principal)
Mrs Sally Herbert (Vice Principal)
Mrs Karen Halket
Mrs Elaine Doughty